Latest News - Exeter and East Devon Growth Point

Growth Point Work Earns Ray Top Award


A senior East Devon District Council Member has won a top national award in recognition of his work in managing the Exeter and East Devon Growth Point venture.

Councillor Ray Franklin heard the good news when he attended the Local Government Information Unit Achievement Award ceremony in London on Tuesday, 8th February.

The annual LgiU ceremony, in the Mayor's Parlour at Westminster City Council, recognises the achievements of councillors in various fields of local government practice. Ray Franklin was announced as winner of the Partnership Achievement award.

The Growth Point venture, which is ongoing, involves a whole raft of schemes aimed at providing housing and employment on the borders of Exeter and East Devon. The Growth Point team has won many millions of pounds in Government support for the area under the stewardship of Councillor Franklin.

He was chairman of the joint partnership of local councils, public bodies and private sector partners until January, when he handed the revolving chair to Councillor Pete Edwards, Leader of Exeter City Council.

A Ward Member for Budleigh Salterton and former Deputy Leader of EDDC, Ray Franklin is currently the council's Portfolio Holder for Strategic Planning and Regeneration.

Sara Randall Johnson, Leader of EDDC, said of the award: "This is fantastic news for Ray and a great feather in his cap for his efforts in furthering partnership working within the Growth Point team.

"This group is a mixture of public bodies and private companies all with their own individual objectives which together add up to a wonderful opportunity to invigorate the economy of Exeter and East Devon. Ray has helped all the partners to understand that wider vision and has enabled the team to grow in confidence and attract massive investment from the public and private sector at a time when funds are scarce. I'm delighted that Ray's efforts have been recognised in this way".

Ray Franklin has been a Ward Member for Budleigh Salterton since 1991.